Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Wall College of Business Board Room February 10, 2007

Presiding:

Mr. Charles J. Hodge

Board Members Present:

Mr. William H. Alford
Mr. William S. Biggs
Mr. Robert D. Brown
Mr. Joseph L. Carter
Mr. Fred F. DuBard, Jr.
Mr. Samuel H. Frink
Mr. J. Wayne George
Dr. James F. Kane
Mr. William L. Lyles, Jr.
Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore, Sr.

Mr. Clark B. Parker Mr. Robert L. Rabon Dr. Oran P. Smith Mr. Eugene C. Spivey Mr. Tommy M. Stringer Dr. Samuel J. Swad

Others Present:

Mr. Doug Bell
Dr. Janis Chesson
Mr. Joshua Chesson
Dr. Debbie Conner
Dr. David DeCenzo
Mr. Edgar Dyer
Mr. Tim Meecham
Ms. Joan Meecham
Ms. Anne Monk
Dr. Danny Nicholson
Ms. Pat Rohr

Ms. Pat Rohr
Mr. Greg Weisner
Dr. Richard Weldon
Dr. Lynn Willett
Ms. Nila Hutchinson

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location and agenda for the meeting). Those in attendance from the media were:

Jessica Foster and Janet Morgan, <u>The Sun News</u> Martha Hunn and Nick Stavrakis, WBTW TV 13 David Joyner, <u>Horry Independent</u> Lee McLaughlin, WPDE TV 15

Chairman Hodge called the meeting to order and asked Dr. Oran Smith to give an invocation.

Mr. Hodge then asked that Roll Call be taken.

Mr. William Biggs made a motion to move into Executive Session to discuss the issue of the Presidency; second by Mr. Alford and so approved. Mr. Hodge asked that Dr. DeCenzo and Dr. Dyer remain.

Board of Trustees Meeting February 10, 2007

Mr. Rabon moved to return to regular session; and so approved.

Mr. Hodge then asked to entertain a motion for the selection of the next President of Coastal Carolina University.

Mr. Wayne George stated that he was very pleased and proud to recommend Dr. David DeCenzo as the next president of Coastal Carolina University and would like to make that in the form of a motion; second by Mr. Joe Carter and unanimously approved.

Mr. Hodge then asked if there was a motion for the newly created position of Executive Vice President.

Mr. Robert Rabon moved that Dr. Edgar Dyer be appointed to the position of Executive Vice President; second by Mr. William Biggs and unanimously approved.

The record will show that both votes were unanimous.

Mr. Hodge stated that we were pleased and proud to have both of these fine gentlemen as our leaders for the future. He thought that it was incredibly impressive that, despite the recent turmoil, they showed their heart and character by not working at odds against each other but by working together. We totally embrace the team approach that they discussed and we appreciate their efforts. We look forward to Coastal Carolina University becoming the major university in South Carolina.

Dr. DeCenzo expressed his thanks to the Board not only for the honor but also for the support. He hopes that in years to come when we look back over the past several months we will come back smiling and say "Look how far we have come together." He feels that this is truly the most critical area in what is most important for Coastal Carolina University. We all need to pull together to begin the healing process and take this University where it can rightfully go. He thanked the Board again for this prestigious honor.

Dr. Dyer stated that he would second the words of Dr. DeCenzo. It has been a stressful time in the life of the University and a lot of our lives, but the healing needs to begin. It will take a team of people to include not only the ones in this room but also the broader University family. It is his understanding that his job will be to do everything that he can do to support Dr. DeCenzo as the Chief Executive and leader and he would do that to the best of his ability and with all of the energy he has. He thanked the Board for this opportunity and for endorsing the team approach. He feels the healing has begun.

Dr. DeCenzo and Dr. Dyer stated that for the record they both accepted the positions.

Board of Trustees Meeting February 10, 2007

Mr. George thanked Mr. Hodge, on behalf of all of the Board members, and the Search Committee and others involved in the Presidential Search process. This has been a tough and demanding process and they appreciated their hard work.

The Board then moved into a second Executive Session by a motion from Mr. Carter and seconded by Mr. Frink.

There was no action taken in Executive Session. Mr. Clark Parker moved to adjourn and the motion was unanimously approved.

Respectfully Submitted,

Samuel H. Frink Secretary/Treasurer