Minutes Coastal Carolina University Board of Trustees

Student Affairs and Retention Committee E. Craig Wall Jr. Board Room May 3, 2018

Committee Members

Present:

Mr. John H. Bartell Jr., Mr. Samuel H. Frink, Ms. Natasha M. Hanna, Mr. Patrick S. Sparks, and Mr. William E. Turner III

Committee Members

Not Present:

Mr. George E. Mullen and Dr. Oran P. Smith

Other Board

Members Present:

Mr. William S. Biggs, Mr. D. Wyatt Henderson, Mr. Carlos C. Johnson, Mr. Charles E. Lewis, Mr. Daniel W. R. Moore Sr., and

Mr. Eugene C. Spivey

Others Present:

Mr. Adrian Anderson, Ms. Sandra Baldridge-Adrian, Ms. Katherine M. Brooks, Dr. J. Ralph Byington, Ms. Nedy Campbell, Ms. Julie Cheney, Mr. Joshua M. Chesson, Dr. Debbie C. Conner, Ms. Amanda E. Craddock, Dr. David A. DeCenzo, Dr. Daniel J. Ennis, Mr. D'Andre Fletcher, Mr. David A. Frost, Mr. Stephen K. Harrison, Mr. Matthew L. Hogue, Ms. Martha S.

Hunn, Mr. Louis Henry Hutto III, Ms. Robyn A. Jones,

Mr. Timothy E. Meacham, Mr. Travis E. Overton, Mr. William M.

Plate Jr., Mr. Mark A. Roach, Ms. Carolyn Smith, Dr. Reneé

Smith, Ms. V. Chyrel Stalvey, and Mr. David Yancey

(In accordance with the requirements of the South Carolina Freedom of Information Act, the news media were notified of the time, location, and agenda for the meeting. No media were in attendance.)

Chairman Dan Moore brought the Student Affairs & Retention Committee meeting to order at 3:07 p.m.

Will Turner moved to approve the February 15, 2018 Student Affairs & Retention Committee meeting minutes. Chuck Lewis seconded. The motion carried.

Vice President for Campus Life & Student Engagement Debbie Conner introduced the newly elected Student Government Association President D'Andre Fletcher who hails from Columbia, SC, and is from a military family.

The goals set for the Student Government Association next year include improving: student engagement in all organizations on campus, community service events, and local philanthropy.

Student Affairs & Retention Committee May 3, 2018

Broader goals have been set to improve communications with various programs, faculty/staff, and more diverse focus groups with notable students.

This year's recipient of the Ronald D. Lackey Award, Adrian Anderson, was introduced. This is awarded to a senior who has excelled in community service while attending the University. There were ten finalists this year who were asked to speak on an attribute of Mr. Lackey's at a dinner held for the finalists and the Lackey family. Anderson chose to talk on mentorship and shared his comments with the Board.

It is two days before the annual Relay for Life event. The Coastal Carolina University student-run chapter of Colleges against Cancer (CAC) reached the million-dollar mark of lifetime funds raised. It has taken twelve years with thousands of volunteers, countless hugs, tears and laughs, and an unwavering dedication to defeating cancer. Add all that up, and you get an organization that has raised \$1 million since 2006 for the American Cancer Society. As of today \$100,011 has been raised this year which will bring the total well over the million dollar mark.

The President and the Provost have been meeting with various student entities on campus, as well as club sports presidents, to share the successes and goals of the University.

Students have become involved in the need to establish a food pantry for students and staff who need assistance. Jackson Scholars and Dyer Fellows will be working on educating the University community, marketing, and raising awareness for the CINO pantry.

Many college students have mental issues and programs need to be offered <u>before</u> they get into a crisis. Fewer students have needed crisis assistance because of their involvement in student life and participating in the Live Well Office, alcohol and drug education, availability of a nutritionist, and mental health education.

Provost Ralph Byington introduced the new Academic Integrity Officer Amanda Siegrest who will have oversight over the Code of Student Conduct and academic sanctions.

As there was no further business, Will Turner moved to adjourn and Patrick Sparks seconded.

Respectfully submitted,

V. Chyrel Stalvey

V. Chyrel Stalvey

Recorder